The Gardens of Woodstock

 


JULY thru SEPTEMBER
 Hours
-----------------------------------
   Sunday     CLOSED
  Monday    10am - 3pm

      Tuesday thru Saturday  
     9am - 4pm   


View our current specials

© 2011 The Gardens of Woodstock.
All rights reserved.

5211 SWANSON ROAD, WOODSTOCK, IL 60098
815.337.2509

GreenVine
Guests enjoying time at the Gardens and landscaping.

About Us — Testimonials

posted 01/28/2019

 

Absolutely Beautiful!

It was the first venue we visited, and every other venue we checked out, we compared to the Gardens. We can’t say enough about how gorgeous the venue is – the plants, water features, gazebo, fire pits, patio, cocktail area, and bridal suite are all amazing!

It’s a great place for a one-stop-shop wedding because the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception are all within 50 yards of each other and the whole venue flows really well. Another great thing about this place is that on the day of the wedding, you have the whole place to yourself, you’re not sharing any space with any other weddings. Mike was great throughout the entire wedding process and was great about communication – all of our questions, whether they were emails or phone calls, were answered very quickly.

During the day of our wedding it rained, but cleared up just in time for the ceremony and our photos turned out stunning! As it got darker, the fire pits were a nice option for our guests and the gardens are all lit up as well. We received so many compliments from our guests about the venue!

One thing to consider is that the dance floor was a little undersized given that the venue can hold 225 guests. The dance floor was a little over-crowded the night of our wedding (we had about 165 guests at our wedding, and they were ready to celebrate!). The venue is also pretty secluded (which is really great, there’s nothing else going on for miles around); however, it means that you most likely have to provide transportation for your guests, which is an extra expense you’ll have to budget for.

 
 

posted 10/25/2018

 

Everything was great. Very prompt with any questions we had, staff went out of their way to help us out with anything we needed. No hidden fees or add ons! It was great to be able to budget with everything up front.

 
 

posted 09/26/2018

 

Beautiful venue! The staff was very accommodating and friendly! So happy we chose this venue for our special day! 😊

 

posted 09/10/2018

 

We had our wedding here 8/25/18 and we loved it!! The location is beautiful and we got some amazing photos in the garden. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the night went out with a hitch! The caterer they use is wonderful. We got so many compliments on the food-so good!
If you are looking for an affordable outdoor wedding, this is the place for you!!

 

posted 08/08/2018

 

I wish I could leave more than 5 stars!

My husband and I were married here on July 21st 2018 and we cannot stop raving about how perfect our day was. The venue alone is absolutely gorgeous, and Mike and his team were incredible. Mike was very organized and responsive with all of the insane questions and requests I had leading up to the wedding, he helped guide us through our rehearsal, which was a BIG help as we had no idea how those usually go, and our musicians/DJ kept raving to me about how helpful and approachable he was with all of their questions. My husband arrived at the venue for pictures and to get ready the day of our wedding at 1pm, so from then on I had to let go and be hidden away in the bridal suite, and EVERYTHING got done somehow and ran so smoothly.

I wanted to give a special shout out to Mike's son, Kevin, who ran the bar during our reception with his wife. All of my guests of course made sure I constantly had a drink in my hand, and Kevin made sure I was staying hydrated and would hunt me down and give me water. Thanks Kevin!! :)

 

posted 08/01/2018

 

I can not say enough amazing things about this place. It is absolutely gorgeous!! We had our wedding here last night and it was everything I imagined it to be and more. Mike and his staff are extremely professional and accommodating. It was an absolute pleasure to work with him. The bar tenders were wonderful also! Everything ran so smoothly and exactly as planned. I am so happy we chose this venue for our special day. It was a dream come true. Thank you so much for everything Mike, we had an amazing time!

 

posted 07/20/2018

 

As soon as I walked into the gardens, I knew that this is where I wanted to get married. There is a gorgeous ceremony spot, a garden to walk through (that make for GORGEOUS pictures), and a tent for the reception. We got so many compliments from our guest on how beautiful the venue was, and the guests loved walking through the gardens to take a break from the dancing.
The caterer with this venue, Ann, is AMAZING. There are so many food choices, and the food was delicious and fresh! We chose a buffet style, and our guests loved the options and the ease.
Mike and his staff are amazing. From the second we signed to our wedding day, he was with us every step of the way and took great care of us. We were able to start setting up for the event at 10 AM (wedding was at 5:15). We accidentally left some personal belongings at the gardens, and Mike boxed it all up for us to come back and get later!
I cannot recommend this venue enough. Our wedding was magical, and we have so many beautiful memories at the Gardens. My husband and I are also excited that we can come and get flowers every anniversary from the gardens so we can bring a piece of our day back with us. Truly an amazing experience. I had the wedding I've been dreaming of since I was a little girl.

 

            Emily , Married on 07/14/2018
 
              I can not say enough amazing things about this place. It is absolutely gorgeous!! We had our wedding here last night and it was everything                          I imagined it to be and more. Mike and his staff are extremely professional and accommodating. It was an absolute pleasure to work with him. The
         bar  tenders were wonderful also! Everything ran so smoothly and exactly as planned. I am so happy we chose this venue for our special day. It was a
         dream come true. Thank you so much for everything Mike, we had an amazing time!
 

             posted 06/17/2018

 

What a top notch organization! Mike and his team really delivered on everything we were expecting. From the very beginning Mike helped us through the whole process and gave great advise where we were unsure on what to do. The facility is clean and at night the gardens and property looked amazing with the lights. The food from Notable Events was even better during the wedding than the tasting, which I didn't think was even possible. The bar tenders and wait staff were amazing and went out of there way to make everyone's night. Would not have changed a thing and so glad we chose The Garden's of Woodstock.


posted 06/15/2018

 

We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Mike, Kevin and the rest of the team were fantastic and the grounds were absolutely beautiful. Our guests couldn't stop saying how beautiful it was. We highly recommend Gardens of Woodstock to anyone looking for a beautiful wedding venue.


 

        Liz , Married on 06/09/2018

          Absolutely Beautiful!

             It was the first venue we visited, and every other venue we checked out, we compared to the Gardens. We can’t say enough about how gorgeous the
        venue is – the plants, water features, gazebo, fire pits, patio, cocktail area, and bridal suite are all amazing!

         It’s a great place for a one-stop-shop wedding because the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception are all within 50 yards of each other and the whole
         venue flows really well. Another great thing about this place is that on the day of the wedding, you have the whole place to yourself, you’re not sharing
         any space with any other weddings. Mike was great throughout the entire wedding process and was great about communication – all of our questions,
         whether they were emails or phone calls, were answered very quickly.

         During the day of our wedding it rained, but cleared up just in time for the ceremony and our photos turned out stunning! As it got darker, the fire pits
         were  a nice option for our guests and the gardens are all lit up as well. We received so many compliments from our guests about the venue!

          One thing to consider is that the dance floor was a little undersized given that the venue can hold 225 guests. The dance floor was a little over-crowded
         the night of our wedding (we had about 165 guests at our wedding, and they were ready to celebrate!). The venue is also pretty secluded (which is really
         great,   there’s nothing else going on for miles around); however, it means that you most likely have to provide transportation for your guests, which is an 
         extra  expense you’ll have to budget for.
 

posted 05/24/2018

 

Where do I begin? The Gardens of Woodstock were beyond my expectations. I was a very nervous bride and my (now) husband and I planned everything ourselves. I could not have been more pleased with the level of service and courtesy provided by Mike and his staff. They were so helpful and walked me through everything. He even made accommodations so that we could have the exact date we wanted even though his open house was originally planned for that date. The caterer they work with was PHENOMENAL. I to this day am receiving constant compliments on the food and the venue. You could not ask for more breathtaking backdrops for photos. Even our photographer commented on how gorgeous the Gardens were and how it was making her job so much more fun. I truly cannot say enough good things and would 100% reccommend them go any bride looking for her perfect venue. Thanks again for making our day everything we dreamed of!

 
 

posted 10/19/2017

 

Our wedding was perfect, thanks to our beautiful venue. We had a gorgeous day. Mike was SO helpful throughout the whole planning process and the day of as well. I could not have asked for a more beautiful wedding venue or a more helpful contact person. Mike was very quick to respond to emails and you can tell how much he loves what he does. 100% perfect

 
 

posted 10/13/2017

 

We first went to go see the venue while it was POURING RAIN and even in this condition, we totally fell in love with the beautiful botanic gardens. We wanted a venue that had its own character and didn't need a ton of decoration, and we felt like the Gardens were a perfect fit. We ended up doing centerpieces and our own backdrop for the head table but nothing else, and it worked out great. Mike (the owner) was really fast at responding to email, which takes off a lot of stress. We were a little worried about being forced into a caterer, but the food turned out fantastic and everyone was raving about it (we had a buffet with chicken francaise and a lemon salmon) and the caterer also worked with us within our budget, which was awesome. One other thing we were worried about was getting set up for the day, since our ceremony was an hour away - but Mike was pretty flexible and allowed us to drop a car off in a back lot the Friday before, so that friends of ours could come Saturday morning to set up for us. The gardens were beautiful and the reception was flawless - amazing place to have our wedding party! P.S. we brought s'mores fixings and everyone loved making smores at the firepits outside the tent!

 

posted 10/10/2017

 

The Gardens of Woodstock was just what I was looking for. It was the only venue we looked at and we fell in love instantly. We lucked out and put in our deposit right away and 20 mins later another couple came in wanting our exact date! We got so lucky. Mike was great to work with. He was very responsive and made things easy. We had a beautiful ceremony and I highly recommend if you get married with a small guest list to do so in the front garden area. It is so BEAUTIFUL! No additional followers or decor are needed. I can’t wait to see our pics from the photographer. This truly is a hidden gem. I couldn’t be happier with our choice.

 

posted 10/03/2017

 

As any couple planning a wedding knows, your venue can make or break the entire experience. My husband and I wanted something unique-- not a traditional, overdone banquet hall or hotel ballroom.

From the minute I saw the Gardens of Woodstock online, I knew this was my venue. We went to visit and handed over the deposit that day, without even seeing anything else in person. We made the right decision. Mike answered all my questions and was extremely responsive to my e-mails. You have to use their preferred caterer, which turns out to be a blessing. Noteable Events had AMAZING food and service, and since they work at the Gardens all the time, they knew exactly what to do so it was a lot of stress off us having to shop around for a caterer.

The best part is, since the ceremony location and venue in general is so decorated with flowers, plants and lights, you don't even need a florist. My bouquet flowers were fake and I used other things for my centerpieces. Saves you THOUSANDS, but is still a beautiful setting.

Since we got married on a Friday, we were able to use the entire venue from 11am-4pm to set up the Thursday before. This took off SOOOOOO much stress from my family and I, and everything was ready to go Friday without any last minute rushing.

They even referred us to our DJ, (Ken Murphy from AMP DJ Services) and I am so grateful for that. These were the best decisions I made during wedding planning and wouldn't change a thing!

The only two complaints I would have if I had to search for something, would be that there aren't really any nice hotels super close (nicest one is about 17-20 minutes away in Crystal Lake) but that isn't the venue's fault. The second one would be that the brick ground in the tent was pretty dirty with stains and I wish it was just a little cleaner, but honestly since there was low light in the tent with a bunch of guest tables around, I didn't notice it much day of.

At the end of the day, my guests gushed about how beautiful and unique my wedding was. It's so convenient with everything right onsite, and if I were to do it all again (I WON'T!) I would not hesitate to book at the Gardens. If you're on the fence-- DO IT.

 

posted 09/13/2017

 

When we were looking for a venue for our wedding we had checked out 3 places. Once we saw the gardens it was a no brainer. We went in April and it was cold and raining and it was still beautiful. My wedding was the end of August and it was breathtaking. Mike is so helpful with everything and the venue is just so perfect. I couldn't of imagined our wedding anywhere else. Our guests raved about the venue the whole night and have still been taking about it! Book it you won't regret it!

 

posted 09/11/2017

 

September 1st We celebrated our Wedding at the Gardens of Woodstock. Our experience was, without exception, Stunning! Lush gardens, exceptional staff who anticipated & accommodated beautifully our every wish. Abundant Joy! Abundant Compliments! Abundant Thanks!


           posted 08/29/2017
 

Mike at the Gardens was absolutely incredible. The Gardens is a working flower nursery during the day but completely transforms to a GORGEOUS venue for a wedding. The venue itself has a brick area with an arbor for the ceremony and then on the other side of the garden shop there is a permanent, air conditioned tent for the reception. The garden shop also has a backup space in case of bad weather. It has just been redecorated & is extremely trendy & the perfect fit for a garden center.
Overall: Mike, the owner, was extremely accommodating & upfront with us. He told us there were very few things we couldn't do, but pretty much if we wanted it, he would make it work for us. His staff is incredible & bartenders took SUCH good care of us the day of the wedding. The bar only closes for 15 minutes between cocktail hour & the ceremony!! We were able to come look at the venue as many times as we wanted leading up to the wedding & we chose to have our rehearsal on a Thursday & we were able to leave our decor there until Saturday, the day of the wedding and pick it up Monday after! The gardens are open to the wedding guests throughout the day/night to explore. They are gorgeous & make for some AMAZING photos. There are also firepits that get lit that guests can enjoy just outside the reception tent during the reception.
Price: The value is SOOO amazing!! The white garden chairs for the ceremony & the reception were included in the fee and there were no hidden costs. Mike broke everything down for us right away so we weren't surprised with any costs. The bar packages are extremely reasonable too and depending on the package, there are so many choices you have! I don't think any of our guests were without something!
Ceremony: The space we got married in was beautiful. All of the annuals & perenials are on moved out of the way so chairs can fit for the ceremony but they make beautiful decor so the only decor we needed for our ceremony was decorating the arch that we would stand under.
Reception: The tent has air conditioning, bathrooms, and a large dance floor. All of the tables are round tables but there are options for long tables too and Mike will work with you to come up with table arrangements however you want! The tent is also decorated with white lights strung across the ceiling which make for a gorgeous glow at night and the tent even has windows! And one of side of it will open up to the outside for fresh air!
Misc: There is a bridal suite upstairs for getting ready that has a kitchenette if you want to bring in food or drinks while getting ready. The inside space to use if the weather is bad can accommodate all of your guests & even has an arch that can be decorated! There is comfortable seating everywhere for those that don't want to stand during cocktail hour.
I would recommend the Gardens of Woodstock to anyone who is looking for a reasonable, outdoor, unique location! We truly had an amazing experience & people raved that our wedding was one of the prettiest they'd ever been to!

 

posted 08/25/2017

 

Our wedding was a fairytale. Everything was perfect, down to the last detail. Mike was very accomodating with every question I asked. The gardens were beautiful and we got so many compliments on how amazing everything was.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------

Hi Mike-

 

I just wanted to send you a quick Thank You to you and your team at the Gardens for our wedding last weekend. It was beyond our wildest expectations and so incredibly perfect. It was the most perfect venue to get married in and our guests could not stop raving about the beauty of the place and how unique the Gardens of Woodstock are.

 

AJ and I are so incredibly grateful to you and your nephews and sons for a truly amazing night. You were such an incredible help through out the entire wedding planning process, and I felt so confident going into the day that it was going to be perfect, and it truly was. 

 

We are so thankful for you guys and will never be able to thank you enough for our truly perfect wedding.

 

Thank you!!!

Lauren
----------------------------------------------------------

posted 07/23/2017

 

We cannot say enough good things about the Gardens of Woodstock. From the moment that I sent the first email, Mike, the owner, was incredibly responsive. He did everything he possibly could to make sure that the day went well. The venue was perfect. The gardens were perfectly manicured and ideal for bridal party photos. One of the reasons that I chose this venue is because the backup/rain location is still very pretty. They even recently redid their large indoor room. We ended up not needing to use that room, but we appreciated that Mike and his staff let couples wait until later in the evening to make the call for an indoor/outdoor wedding. I also liked that the entire event from the ceremony, to cocktail hour (in the gardens) to the reception were all on paved ground. Mike's nephew took care of us by making sure my husband and I had drinks and were well-taken care of. We got married on Saturday, July 1st. I really appreciated that the staff let us and our guests leave our cars there overnight. They were very accommodating.

Initially, I was very concerned that they only had one exclusive caterer. However, the food ended up being one of my favorite parts of the evening. Ann Zeyer, the caterer, and Gina, who ran our event, were both fantastic. We chose to the buffet and I can't recommend it enough. All of the food was excellent and we had several guests tell us it was the best wedding food they'd ever had. The price was very reasonable for both the quantity and the quality of the food we got.

Overall, the venue was gorgeous, unique, and everything that I could have asked for and more. Thanks, Mike and team!

 

posted 07/21/2017

 

We had our wedding here on July 9th 3017 and we couldn't have been happier! Everyone gave us amazing comments on how awesome everything was! Mike was always so helpful and always available whenever we had a question or help! It was the most perfect Day!

------------------------------------------------------

 

posted 07/08/2017

 

I was completely impressed with this venue. Not only was Mike the manager quick to respond to all questions, but they were extremely accomodating. My husband and I were looking to get married in April, but we fell in love with this place and changed our season to early summer since they only do weddings May-October. Affordable on a small budget in my opinion! They recently installed an air conditioning unit in the tent were the reception is held but can have the tent flaps opened for an open air feel. Our day was perfect and we had the flaps open, they only shut them when Mike saw a storm coming in, and he turned the AC on. I didn't even notice it had happened, the AC unit does not dull out the music playing by the DJ. The tent is sturdy, cemented into the ground.

They work with one caterer, Michael's on Main, which I thought was going to be a negative point but I was WRONG. I had zero complaints about the food, it was DELICIOUS.

You get the whole place for your day, so guests can mill around the garden area which is BEAUTIFULLY lit at night.

This nursery turned venue at night is a GEM more people need to experience!

 

            

 
 

 

---------------------------------------------------------
Mike,

Your venue is seriously a fairy tale....everything was absolutely perfect.  We can't thank you enough for helping to make our wedding day so special.

The venue looked perfect, the catering (and all vendors) did an amazing job.  All the guests did was rave about how beautiful the gardens were and how amazing the food and service was.

 

My friends told us it was the most beautiful wedding venue they have ever been to. :)  

 

Thank you for doing such a great job planning, and assisting us the day of.  Your whole crew was outstanding.  The bartender checked in on me every hour to make sure I had exactly what I needed.

 

We will definitely recommend your venue to everyone!


Daniella & Karl
 

------------------------------------------------------------
September 2014

Dear Mike,
 We want you and your staff to know that we appreciated all of your efforts to provide such wonderful service for my daughter and son-in-law wedding at The Gardens of Woodstock.  The garden setting under the trellis was breathtaking; and the white tent with arched windows and tables with floor length tablecloths and white chairs looked great.  The fire pit tables and outdoor lawn furniture were also a great place to sit and chat during the reception.  The candid photos we took were stunning and we are looking forward to seeing the professional pics!
Stephanie's grandmother and her 87 year old sister-in-law were treated like royalty by the caterer.  His presentation of their absolutely wonderful hot meals was heartwarming.  
DJ Dave was also great.

Thank you for helping to make such wonderful memories for all of us on their special day!  

Judy
------------------------------------------------------------

July 2014

Hi Gwen,
Just want to tell you how very happy we are with your design of our new garden…..we love it.  The transformation is really amazing and I love being able to see the large pine (Pendula) out of both windows.  Thank you so much.

Wanted to make sure I get the final watering of the season correct for the pine.  You had mentioned to give the pine a watering in November (around Thanksgiving) and December (around Christmas if the ground is not frozen).  How much water should we give it?  A large amount of 3 gallons or is one gallon enough water?  I will write your information down this time.  J  Thank you.

Have a GREAT day!

Debbie
------------------------------------------------------------
June 2014

Our group had a wonderful day at The Gardens of Woodstock today! 
The gardens are beautiful, the lunch was delicious and Gwen was very knowledgeable and a wonderful guide. 
What a gem you have tucked away there. 

Thank you and we hope to visit again. 
Jayne
------------------------------------------------------------
June 2014

 I just wanted to thank Gwen, Arturo and his helpers for doing such a great job on my garden - I love it and so do my neighbors.  
I would definitely recommend you to my friends and neighbors.  
Gwen and Arturo were wonderful to work with.

Diane
------------------------------------------------------------

Summer 2013

I'm so lucky that I found the Gardens of Woodstock. It really is a hidden gem. It's absolutely stunning in pictures
and even more beautiful in person. Mike was a pleasure to work with. He was easy to communicate with, and
he was incredibly helpful in making my vision come to life. The in-house caterer was also phenomenal - and
affordable! The food was excellent, and the bar was always stocked. The catering and venue staff were so
attentive, they even helped in setting up all of the decorations we brought in ourselves, which was such a relief!
I am so grateful to the Gardens for everything they did for us. The wedding was perfect, and our guests loved
our unique location. I wish we could do it all over again!"

Amy S
-------------------------------------------------------------

Fall 2013

"The Gardens of Woodstock was a dream for us, as I have no doubt it will be for many future brides and grooms.
"Magical" is an insufficient word for describing the utter beauty of this venue: vibrant flowers, winding creeks,
whispering waterfalls, cobbled footpaths, twinkling lights embracing the trunks of trees. The Gardens is a
celebration of all that is perfect in nature, and we could not envision our own celebration having taken place
anywhere else. To Mike and all of his kin at the Gardens, as well as to his close partners at Noteable Events,
whose food left guests wondering if they had ever enjoyed a better meal, we say to you that you are without equal."

Alison and Matthew